4. Resource Group Architecture : 4.2 Network Resources : 4.2.2 IPv6
4.2.2 IPv6
Internet Protocol version 6 (IPv6) is the latest version of IP addressing, designed to succeed IPv4 as the standard protocol for the Internet. A key driver for transitioning to IPv6 is the much larger supported address space of 264 addresses as opposed to the 232 addresses for IPv4.
The following vCloud Director components are required to support IPv6:
*Static IP pools.
*DHCP server.
*Static IP assignments.
*NAT rules.
*Firewall rules.
The following vSphere infrastructure components support IPv6:
*vCenter Server.
*vSwitches (standard and distributed).
*vSphere vMotion.
*Virtual machines (guest customization available for Windows and Linux).
vSphere virtual machines support IPv6 addressing and can be configured with the following components:
*Static IPv6 address.
*Autoconfigure, using a prefix announcement from a router.
*DHCP, from a DHCP6 server.
*Local network addresses, for internal communication.
vCloud Network and Security Edge does not currently support IPv6. Virtual machines managed by vCloud Director using IPv6 can communicate only to endpoints that are not behind vCloud Network and Security Edge devices. Virtual machines that communicate on the same directly attached vApp or organization virtual datacenter network can use IPv6. To communicate with the outside world using IPv6, connect the organization’s virtual machines to a direct external organization virtual datacenter network.
Many destinations do not currently support IPv6, so operate virtual machines in dual stack IPv4 and IPv6.
If the underlying physical infrastructure does not support IPv6, another option is to establish a 6to4 tunnel using a router to provide connectivity into an IPv6 vCloud. Terminate the tunnel on a relay router that has a pure IPv6 interface as well as an IPv4 interface to move traffic between the two environments.
vCloud Director does not support IPv6 addressing for the cell network interfaces.